Announcing updates to GWCF’s Board of Directors for the 2022-2023 fiscal year.

LAKELAND, FL (July 1, 2022) – GiveWell Community Foundation announces the addition of one new board  member, two outgoing board members, and an updated slate of officers. These updates were approved by the GWCF Board of Directors at their final meeting of the 2021-2022 fiscal year on May 24, 2022 and they go into effect with the start of the new fiscal year on July 1, 2022.

New board member

Joining the board is Jack Harrell III, Senior Vice President of Inventory, Sales, Marketing, and Research & Development at Harrell’s, LLC in Lakeland. Jack holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and management from Samford University and a master’s degree in turf and turfgrass management from Clemson University. He currently serves as vice chair of the Florida Polytechnic University Foundation, a member of Parker Street Ministries’ advisory committee, and a board member of Lakeland Regional Health System.

Jack Harrell III, GWCF board member

Jack Harrell III

Outgoing board members

Two members will retire from the board of directors after reaching their term limits. Both outgoing members were recognized for their outstanding service to the GiveWell Community Foundation at the May 24 board meeting.

Jeff Cox, Sr. has served on the board of directors for 10 years, including two years as board chair and two years as immediate past board chair. He has also served on the executive, governance, investment, nominating and search committees.

Jim Chaffin also served on the board of directors for 10 years. For six years, Jim led as chair of the investment committee. He also served on the executive, governance, nominating, and search committee.

Jeff Cox

Jeff Cox, Sr.

Jim Chaffin

Jim Chaffin

New Slate of Officers

At their May 24 meeting, members of the board of directors also voted in the following officers for a two-year term: Jay Gray will serve as GWCF’s next board chair, Jack Hollis as immediate past board chair, Kimberly Elmhorst as vice chair, Wesley Barnett as treasurer, and Anne Furr as secretary.

To learn more about the GiveWell Community Foundation Board of Directors, please visit our Board & Staff page.